Shekinah Glory


Saints and Sinners
February 26, 2007, 4:29 pm
Filed under: George Jones, Spirituality

George Jones has a song called “Sinners and Saints.” In the chorus he sings, “The only thing different between sinners and saints is one is forgiven and the the other one ain’t.” I don’t know if that is how our baking group at the church took up the name “Saints and Sinners,” but somehow it stuck. Funny thing about my church, everyone wants to be the sinner and no one wants a claim on being the saint.

It started out as a simple idea. IONA senior services was having a super senior day and we had nominated one of our members to recieve an award as a super senior. He is truly a super senior. Munching on cookies and Sierra Mist mixed with juice we began talking about the kitchen in my church. As an alumni of the culinary institute of line cooks I was very interested in rolling up my sleeves and using our abundant kitchen facility.

When my office manager announced, “I would like to see the church serve lunches to seniors,” I pounced.

We decided instead to start a bakery on Mondays at 10:00 a.m. in that large kitchen. This was the time that I had a staff meeting anyway. So, what better way to confab with the staff than while beating down an expanded loaf of dough?

We have consistantly had 3-5 members show up to join me and the office manager. My role in the group is talker. In my more ego inflated moments I see myself as Martin Luther talking ecclessiology, interfaith dialogue, theology and how I have burned all of my hermenutical bridges. I like being Toto and pulling back the curtain to reveal the little man hiding with a microphone. In reality they give me more than I ever could. We have so much fun that I never want to miss our baking group. When we laugh I imagine it is the gift of tongues. We are laughing in some spiritual language, even if the jokes are a little more earthy.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Thanks for stopping by the church and leaving a comment.

It cracked me up. So you think large breasts are part of the curse? Hmmm…I think I’d have to differ with you there. Purely on theological terms of course.

Maybe now churches will split not over whether Adam had a belly button, but the cup size of Eve.

Comment by WhoreChurch

Not my theological viewpoint, just an observation of the website. Anytime a Lego is used to illuminate a biblical portrait it will have unintended theological implications. Something about those blank expressions is haunting.

Comment by pastorofdisaster




Leave a Reply

