Shekinah Glory


Yes, There is a Corn Palace!
March 30, 2007, 2:57 pm
Filed under: Christianity, Corn Palace, God, Grace, Jesus, Lent, Religion, Spirituality, thoughts

My wife is convinced that I made up the Corn Palace in Mitchell, South Dakota. She believes that this is another midwestern tall tell like the Jackelope and Snipe hunting. Even when I showed her the live webcam at http://www.cornpalace.org she still did not believe me. In the background she is saying, “You are not fooling me!”

I know in the Bible where liars end up. There must be someone else out there that visited this temple to corn on a family vacation.

10 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Just one more question and I’ll try to get The Corn Palace out of my mind (impossible). Did you realize when you visited as a child that it was bizarrely hilarious or is it only in retrospect?

Comment by Janice

When I was a child we treated this place like it was the Taj Mahal. It really is a place for dreamers. I think you should visit. As I remember there is a fiberglass dinosaur park near by and a dam on the Missouri near Yankton.

Comment by pastorofdisaster

I have been there many times. It does exist. Interesting side note, they have one heck of a rodent problem. The corn gets replaced all of the time. Pretty cool place if enjoy maze.

Comment by tobeme

Whew! For a moment I thought it might have been a dream. I told my wife that it was a well traveled tourist site.

Comment by pastorofdisaster

We visited when I was a kid, too. And a friend of mine pastored church not too far from there for several years. Nice people. Bizarre sense of style. But fun. If you visit, don’t forget to stop at Wall Drug Store for free water.

Comment by firedancer

Oh do I have Wall Drug stories. My father wouldn’t let me buy a Wall Drug bumper sticker because it had a naughty word on it.

Comment by pastorofdisaster

I have been patiently waiting for my Corn Palace Vacation Guide. I signed up for it on-line when you put the link up. Perhaps they are miffed that I opted out of email updates.

Comment by Janice

If you go you must visit Ponca. Carol is in the background saying, “tell her not to get sucked in!”

Comment by pastorofdisaster

I’m not going to go, I just want the vacation guide for my coffee table.

Comment by Janice

I’m sure it will be lovely, and make you look very sophisticated. The corn palace is the new Grand Canyon.

Comment by pastorofdisaster




Leave a Reply

