Shekinah Glory


Putting the “da” back in fundamentalist
April 13, 2007, 1:20 pm
Filed under: Christianity, Fundamentalism, God, Grace, Jesus, Religion, Spirituality, Uncategorized

I grew up in a very strict fundamentalist family. I was not allowed to dance and was warned against certain types of music. I remember the little yellow track that I was handed at church which warned about the dangers of rock and roll music. Bands which I had never heard of like Black Sabbath, John Lennon and Queen were quoted and exposed to be Christ haters. Then there was the backmasking. It was the conviction that some of these artists were so deeply under the influence of prince of darkness that they had imbedded a secret message from Lucifer in their albums that could only be understood if the album was played backwards. I remember playing frisbee with my two discs from Prince’s album 1999, because I thought that if I kept it I would go straight to hell.

There was so much culturally that I missed in childhood. I missed all three Star Wars movies, Poltergiest, E.T. and any other movies that were hitting theatres during my childhood. We did enter a movie theatre to see Johnny Cash’s unintentionally funny “The Gospel Road” because it was sponsored by the Billy Graham Crusade. Yet, most of the movies everyone talked about were a mystery to me. When I was finally allowed to attend movies at the age of 17, one of the first movies I made sure I viewed was “The Rise and Fall of Ziggy Stardust and the Spiders From Mars.”

image18.jpg

It was all downhill from there.

“I don’t want to know about evil, I only want know bout love.” Dr. John

15 Comments so far
Leave a comment

You missed the Star Wars movies? Now, that I think, is a “fundamental” sin on the part of your parents 🙂

Comment by j4jesus

Actually, this is kinda funny. My wife accidently published this rough draft of the beginning of something. After reading it on the page I might leave it. I still haven’t really seen the Star Wars flicks.

Comment by pastorofdisaster

See the originals and leave the prequels (sp?) alone.

Comment by j4jesus

I believe that I was told that Star Wars presented a view of the world which was an ancient heresy starting with an M that I will not even try to murder. Therefore, we should not see it because it presented a fallen way of viewing the world. Some day I will watch them all in a marathon.

Comment by pastorofdisaster

On the backmasking – I have to say I’d LOVE to know how anyone would actually be able to play their records/tapes or anything else backwards without a professional sound system or the like – maybe I just led a very sheletered life or something LOL! Personally all for appropriate fundamentalism me! Blessings, TKR

Comment by Ha Tikvah

We used to try and do it with our stereo, but it always messed up the needles.

Comment by pastorofdisaster

Ah… My favorite was Queen’s “Another One Bites the Dust” which said “It’s fun to smoke marijuana” backwards…. My belief then was why listen to it backwards, make the judgment on what they’re saying period.

Of course Petra’s “What are you looking for the Devil for when you ought to be looking for the Lord” on Judas Kiss was a classic!

The days of vinyl……

aA

Comment by agnosticatheist

I think that my sister had that particular song on a clandestine 45. I was always mesmerized by the b-side which was “Don’t try suicide.” An obvious satanic message.

Someday I will have to talk about the Contemporary Christian concerts that I attended. I was always a Petra ballad man myself. They taught me how to love, then I needed therapy.

Comment by pastorofdisaster

PastorofDisaster sez:
“Someday I will have to talk about the Contemporary Christian concerts that I attended. I was always a Petra ballad man myself. They taught me how to love, then I needed therapy.”

I saw Petra in Sikeston, Missouri in about 1978. I saw them with some college buddies of mine, and we all agreed that they cooked.

I enjoyed this article. Last month I wrote an article which detailed some of the ‘Satanic’ things I was warned about by my family and church. You might get a kick out of it.
http://heissailing.edublogs.org/2007/03/29/fahrenheit-451/

Comment by HeIsSailing

There is a huge list of things that I was barred from seeing/hearing. This continued at Bible College. We were told that we should not attend a dance troupe from Africa because they were demon possessed.

Comment by pastorofdisaster

DisasterPastor sez:
“We were told that we should not attend a dance troupe from Africa because they were demon possessed.”

NO WAY!! ME TOO!! Not the concert, but I could not listen to the African rhythms because they were, as you say Demon Possessed!!
Excellent!!

Comment by HeIsSailing

We did however attend.

Comment by pastorofdisaster

Thank God my parents were not fundamentalists! No evil in African rhythms! Star Wars was fun and life was good and something to be enjoyed. Have you ever noticed how much some fundamentlists tend toward gnosticism and zoroastrianism in some of their theology and philosophy? I’m going to be doing a sermon series in August on the “Gnostic Threat to Following Jesus”. I think it will be an eye-opener for anyone who is a part of, what our friend the Hearty Heretic calls, Brand Xtianity.

Comment by Jason

Actually, I was at Moody Bible Institute (I always want to add “of technology”) when I saw the African dance troupe. I think we were actully breaking a rule by going.

Comment by pastorofdisaster

Sounds like a good sermon series.

Comment by pastorofdisaster




Leave a Reply

