Shekinah Glory


Simple Grace
April 27, 2007, 7:22 pm
Filed under: Bible, Children, Christianity, God, Grace, Jesus, Religion, Spirituality, thoughts, writing

Yesterday, It was a bit chilly here in the D.C. region. I made my family walk to a cheesy Italian restaurant called Ruffinios a few blocks away. Inside this spaghetti house there was enough kitsch to make my heart loose a beat. Posters filled every inch of the wall, most reproductions of artist’s masterpieces. It is a very small restaraunt with red candles on the table, very cozy. Plus, there is an ancient jukebox in the corner with an eclectic mix of music. Lou Reed, Nat King Cole, Louis Armstrong and Bob Dylan were on handwritten cards that were illuminated by a light somewhere deep inside the machine. We put in four quarters and recieved five great songs. The food is okay and the portions are generous.

Walking back home we noticed all the wonderful blooming plants. The Azaleas, Dogwoods and the pink Cherry Blossoms. Turning into our driveway we saw our majestic Cherry Blossom bursting with its own beautiful flowers. I began shaking a branch and sang, “Its the most wonderful time of the year.” My daughter and I stood laughing under a storm of pink petals.

We all came inside the house with pink petals falling off our jackets and hair onto the oak floors. Soon my daughter was back outside. She re-entered the house, but it was only to retrieve a stepladder. For the next hour she would come to the door declaring, “close your eyes!” Then when we opened them she would hand us a bouquet of pink buds. We filled vases and teacups until flowers illuminated our living room.

The flowers are sitting at my elbow, reminding me of the gracious presence of my daughter. She is always teaching me about grace. Many times she is where I see God. Grace, a free act of beauty and generosity on a cool, overcast day. I guess I know what it means to live in a state of grace!

9 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Oh, that’s beautiful! I beleive that right underneath every gloomy/dull/negative experience is a bright/enlightened/postive experience.

Comment by Judy MiCha

Thanks Judy!

Comment by pastorofdisaster

What a lovely accounting…I could almost see the restaurant and the pedals! It’s such a gift to be able to not only appreciate – but to recognize! – the simple everyday “graces” that fill our lives! Thanks for sharing!

Comment by Grace

Thanks grace!

Comment by pastorofdisaster

Hey Brian,

It’s wonderful to know that you can enjoy all those simple, subtle bits of Grace, that most people miss.

You savor the “moment”.

And Italian food…..I’m right there with you!

Be well,
Ron

Comment by ron

While I rant on a bit about church and doctrine and stuff, my all time number one rant is God’s Amazing Grace, that certainly saved (and keeps saving) a wretch like me.
I can really relate to this beautiful post – thank you!

Comment by jonfeatherstone

Thanks and thanks for visitin my blog Jon.

Peace

Comment by pastorofdisaster

I’m thinking, all God wants out of us is to find a few other humans to just love the hell out of creation with. Sound like ya’ll were doing it!

Comment by Hearty Heretic

It certainly can be a wonderful creation when I am willing to open my eyes.

Comment by pastorofdisaster




Leave a Reply

