Shekinah Glory


Letter to Obama
December 19, 2008, 9:32 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: ,

To Whom It May Concern,

I am very sad that you are having Rev. Rick Warren as part of the inauguration. His participation gives him legitimacy and his shallow beliefs are homophobic, misguided and divisive in a time when we must move forward toward full civil rights for LGBT citizens. As you have said hope has an actionable component. It is not merely the synthesizing of variant voter blocks for the purpose of power, it is the making of unpopular choices so that all citizens might be afforded the same freedoms under the constitution of the United States. While this may be a brilliant political move, it can only do harm to a minority who are expecting your protection as an upholder of equality.

Peace,
Rev. Brian Merritt
The Palisades Community Church
Washington, D.C. 20016

7 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Well said. Glad you wrote it. Glad you sent it.

Comment by john shuck

I am honored that I can call you my friend. I love the part, “As you have said hope has an actionable component. It is not merely the synthesizing of variant voter blocks for the purpose of power, it is the making of unpopular choices so that all citizens might be afforded the same freedoms under the constitution of the United States.”
I pray that unpopular choices abound for the greater glory of justice in revelation of the Ken-dom of God.

Comment by ryan

Thanks John and Ryan.

Comment by pastorofdisaster

Hey, Pastor 🙂 Long time no see!

I have mixed feelings on this issue only because Rick Warren has never hid his strict adherence to fundamentalist Christian theology…Obama himself said he was a Christian, and Obama himself said he defined marriage as between on man and one woman.

Now, granted…I haven’t read any of Pastor Warren’s words on his beliefs. But if they follow along fundamentalist lines, then the same issues that you just mentioned – and that I’m seeing everywhere on the Net – would have been said about Billy Graham as well.

I’m just wondering why everyone is so upset about this when it seems like a ‘logical’ choice for Obama to make. He (Obama) supports state-legislated civil unions and is against banning them. Isn’t that enough? (sort of a rhetorical question on my part…trying to understand the opposition here).

Is it possible for anyone who adheres to ANY particular spiritual practice, make all the people happy, all the time?

Atheists have been upset about inaugural prayers and benedictions for a long time…whether they’re given by a ‘guest’ spiritual leader, or by the incoming President.

Comment by Grace

Hey Grace it is good to hear from you again. I haven’t been too good at keeping up my blog. I think that there are a few problems with Rev. Warren and the whole idea of civil unions in a freedom of religion standpoint. I did not really appreciate the whole Saddleback debate forum either, but that is another post. It is that someone who has compared homosexuality to pedophilia, incest and polygamy is not the right message for unity at this point in the countries history.

To me the only compelling state sanction on a liturgical act is for tax purposes. That is why we pay for a marriage license. To bar Gay marriage is the definition of the state pressing a particular theology on religious bodies. So, I do not agree with Obama’s position. My church recognizes gay marriages, but the state is telling me that a covenant that members of my congregation take with each other in their church is invalid.

Plus, I do not think this is a matter of Obama’s personal belief. Some of us would like him to show equality (not separate but equal civil ceremonies) for sexual minorities under the constitution.

I tend to agree with the atheists on this point, but then there are more evangelicals than atheists. So, politicians don’t want to make them mad.

It is so good to hear from you!

Comment by pastorofdisaster

hey brian, i was writing a post about RW and was wondering if you have articles where he qoutes this ‘stuff’?
thanks, Kristina

Comment by krislinatin

I believe that he talks about this on his beliefnet interview. This is where my wife directed me. Good to hear from you.

Comment by pastorofdisaster




Leave a Reply

